CESM Advisory Board (CAB)

The CESM Advisory Board (CAB) will serve as an advisory committee reporting to the CESM Scientific Steering Committee (SSC), NSF Program Director, NCAR Director, and UCAR President. Membership in the CAB will come from university faculty and staff, staff members of national laboratories, and scientists from foreign universities, laboratories, and centers.



Dr. Elizabeth Hunke (11/1/15 - 6/30/24) Chair since 4/1/2021
Los Alamos National Laboratory, P. O. Box 1663, Los Alamos, NM 87545
Email: eclare@lanl.gov


Dr. Annalisa Bracco (7/1/20 - 6/30/24)
Georgia Institute of Technology, ES&T, North Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30332
Tel: 404-894-9472 Fax: 404-894-5638 Email: annalisa@eas.gatech.edu

Dr. Dargan Frierson (7/1/20 - 6/30/25)
University of Washington, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, ATG Rm 602 Box 351640, Seattle, WA 98195
Tel: 206-685-7364 Fax: 404-894-5638 Email: dargan@atmos.washington.edu

Dr. Gregory S. Jenkins (7/1/20 - 6/30/24)
Pennsylvania State University, Professor of Meteorology and Atmospheric Science, Geography, and African Studies, 510 Walker Building, University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-0479 Email: gsj1@psu.edu

Dr. Laure Zanna (7/1/20 - 6/30/24)
New York University, Courant Institute, Center for Atmosphere Ocean Science, Department of Mathematics
Phone: 212-998-3180 Email: laure.zanna@nyu.edu

Dr. Michael Alexander (7/1/20 - 6/30/25)
NOAA, PSL, 325 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80305
Tel: 303-497-6030 Email: michael.alexander@noaa.gov

Dr. Michael Pritchard (7/1/20 - 6/30/25)
UC Irvine, Department of Earth System Science, 3317 Croul Hall, Irvine, CA 92697
Tel: 949-824-3538 Email: mspritch@uci.edu

Dr. Paco Doblas Reyes (7/1/20 - 6/30/25)
Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Tel: +34 934137719 Email: francisco.doblas-reyes@bsc.es

Dr. Vaishali Naik (7/1/20 - 6/30/25)
NOAA, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, Physical Scientist Biogeochemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry and Climate Division, Room 259, 201 Forrestal Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540
Tel: 609-987-5057 Email: Vaishali.Naik@noaa.gov

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Everette Joseph, NCAR Director
NCAR, P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: 303-497-1111, Email: ejoseph@ucar.edu

Dr. Tony Busalacchi, UCAR President
P. O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: 303-497-1652, Fax: 303-497-1654, Email: tonyb@ucar.edu

Dr. David Lawrence, CESM Chief Scientist
NCAR Climate & Global Dynamics Laboratory, P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: 303-497-1384, Fax: 303-497-1700, Email: dlawren@ucar.edu

Prof. Jon Petch, CGD Director
NCAR Climate & Global Dynamics Laboratory, P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: 303-497-2613 Fax: 303-497-1700, Emailpetch@ucar.ed

Dr. Eric DeWeaver, Program Director
Climate and Large-scale Dynamics, National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: 703-292-8527, Fax: 703-292-9022, Email: edeweave@nsf.gov

Prior Chairs

  • Leo Donner (January 2015-March 2021)
  • Isaac Held (January 2010 - September 2014)
  • Michelle Rienecker (June 2006 - December 2009)
  • Daniel Jacob (January 2005 - June 2006)
  • Ed Sarachik (late 1998 - December 2004)

Terms of Reference

These terms of reference apply to the CAB, which replaces the Climate Modeling, Analysis and Prediction (CMAP) Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) as described in the SAC Terms of Reference dated 28 April 1997.


NSF's CMAP budget initiative has evolved to support two components, a coordinated NCAR-university Community Earth System Model (CESM) activity and individual university modeling research projects. It is the coordinated CESM component of CMAP that requires oversight and guidance. Furthermore, CESM has matured and improved over the past few years, and it now has potential to serve multi-agency needs. For these reasons, the present CMAP advisory body, the CMAP SAC, is being reconstituted as the CAB, an advisory body for CESM with members representing a broad spectrum of multi-agency U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) climate modeling interests.

Definition of CMAP

Climate Modeling, Analysis and Prediction (CMAP) is a NSF program supporting research in climate system model development, simulation and prediction, validation, error estimation, and assessment of predictability. CMAP is a part of NSF's focussed U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP).

* Updated July 13, 2000; February 11, 1999

Definition of CESM

Community Earth System Model (CESM) is a focussed community effort led by NCAR for the development and analysis of comprehensive climate system models. It is a key component of CMAP, and is supported by CMAP, with complementary support from NSF base funding at NCAR and from other agencies.

Definition of CESM SSC

The CESM Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) provides scientific leadership for the CESM project, including oversight of activities of working groups, coordination of model experiments, making decisions on model definition and development, encouragement of external participation in the project, and promotion of CESM within NSF and other agencies, as appropriate. It also provides information to the CESM Advisory Board, as requested, on the functioning and progress of CCSM/CESM.

Charge to CAB

To provide advice to the CESM SSC, the Director of NCAR, the principal sponsors of the project, and the President of UCAR on a wide spectrum of scientific and technical activities within or involving the CESM. The CAB should provide advice on CESM plans, priorities and management activities. It should address the progress and quality of ongoing CESM scientific and technical activities, their balance, and their interactions with other closely related climate modeling and research projects, with an aim of building a more collaborative modeling community to enhance overall progress in climate modeling. The CAB should promote the CESM mission and activities by helping in building and expanding the CESM national and international community.

* Updated July 31, 2014


The CAB shall consist of approximately 12-15 scientists from the university community and other laboratories and institutions, as appropriate. The members shall represent broad scientific disciplines related to earth-system modeling and serve rotating terms of three years in duration.

* Updated July 24, 2014

Appointment of Members

The members of the CAB, including the designation of a CAB chair, will be appointed by the Director of NCAR, after consultation with the NSF-AGS program Director, the Director of the Climate and Environmental Sciences Division of DOE-BER, the President of UCAR, the Chair of the SSC, and other scientific community members as appropriate.

* Updated July 24, 2014

Organization and Funding

The CAB will be funded through the CESM Program Office.


The CAB will meet at least once a year or more often as needed. Meetings are to be called by the CAB chair with administrative support and funding for meeting logistics provided through the CESM Program office. Invitees to the meeting will include the Chair of the CESM SSC, the NSF-AGS program Director, relevant NSF-AGS program managers, the Director of the Climate and Environmental Sciences Division of DOE-BER, relevant DOE-BER program managers, the Director of NCAR, the President of UCAR, and representatives from other agencies, as appropriate. Invitees can designate an alternative representative if desired.

* Updated July 24, 2014