Scenario Model Intercomparison Project (ScenarioMIP)

This webpage is for historical purposes only. Visit the new ScenarioMIP website for updated information

The Scenario Model Intercomparison Project (ScenarioMIP) carries out climate model simulations driven by alternative plausible futures of emissions and land use. The primary objectives of Scenario-MIP are to:

  1. Facilitate integrated research leading to a better understanding of the physical climate system consequences of future scenarios and their impact on natural and social systems, including adaptation and mitigation considerations.
  2. Provide a basis for addressing targeted science questions about the climate effects of aspects of forcing relevant to scenario-based research.
  3. Provide a basis for various international efforts that target improved methods to quantify projection uncertainties based on multi-model ensembles.

ScenarioMIP is part of the Coupled Model Intercomparison Project organized by the World Climate Research Programme, and integrates research across the climate science, integrated assessment modeling (IAM), mitigation, and impacts, adaptation and vulnerability (IAV) communities. For more information on the project, see the ScenarioMIP paper [ Link ]

Note about ScenarioMIP timeline, February 2018: Considerable progress has been made over the last few months to generate future forcings, and most tasks have been finished by now. However, overall delivery has been slightly delayed. See the updated timeline of planned releases for more information.

ScenarioMIP Paper

O'Neill, B. C., Tebaldi, C., van Vuuren, D.P., Eyring, V., Friedlingstein, P., Hurtt, G., Knutti, R., Kriegler, E., Lamarque, J.-F., Lowe, J., Meehl, G.A., Moss, R., Riahi, K., and Sanderson, B. M. 2016. The Scenario Model Intercomparison Project (ScenarioMIP) for CMIP6. Geosci. Model Dev., 9, 3461-3482.

Primary Contacts

Scientific Steering Committee

  • Veronika Eyring (DLR, Germany)
  • Pierre Friedlingstein (U of Exeter, UK)
  • George Hurtt (U of Maryland, USA)
  • Reto Knutti (ETH, Switzerland)
  • Jean-Francois Lamarque (NCAR, USA)
  • Jason Lowe (MetOffice, UK)
  • Jerry Meehl (NCAR, USA)
  • Richard Moss (JGCRI, USA)
  • Ben Sanderson (NCAR, USA)