PAMIP 2021 Virtual Workshop

Overview

The purpose of the workshop is to share scientific results and to facilitate/foster collaborative studies based on the PAMIP multi-model experiment database. Registration and abstract submissions are due February 21, 2021.

The format of the workshop is as follows. Each day will be 2.5 hours in length starting at 15:00 GMT, and will be organized around a particular theme, for example atmospheric dynamical response, ocean response, etc... The first hour will consist of short ~5-7 minute presentations in which we ask you to summarize salient research results and end with open questions for further study and discussion. After a ~20-30 minute break, we will reconvene for open discussion, with a view toward integrating individual findings and finding common ground for further collaborative study.

Each participant is invited to pre-record a longer ~15 minute talk; these talks will be available for advance viewing one week before the workshop via a shared Google drive. The entire workshop will be recorded and posted with only registered participants will have access to the recordings.

While a virtual workshop has its challenges, we hope that the mix of pre-recorded talks and short live sessions with dedicated group discussions, all of which will be recorded and posted, will serve to foster a sense of community and connect us in our common PAMIP related interests.

Let us know if you have any questions or additional ideas for how to make this a valuable and forward-looking workshop, and share this workshop with your colleagues. A detailed agenda will be sent out by March 7 2021, along with Zoom instructions.

For more information about the Polar Amplification Model Intercomparison Project, you can visit the PAMIP homepage

PAMIP co-chairs and coordinators

- Clara Deser, James Screen, Doug Smith and Lantao Sun

Local Workshop Times

00:00 - 02:30 JST
15:00 - 17:30 GMT
16:00 - 18:30 CEST
10:00 - 12:30 EST
09:00 - 11:30 CST
08:00 - 10:30 MST
07:00 - 09:30 PST

Registration

Registration is now closed.