[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] Report of the Software Engineering Working Group

 

Report of the Software Engineering Working Group

 

Fifth Annual CCSM Workshop

Co-Chairs: Cecelia DeLuca, Ricky Rood, and Jim Rosinski

The Village at Breckenridge, Thursday, June 29, 2000

 

 

SUMMARY

 

Much of the CCSM Software Engineering Working Group (SEWG) meeting focused on two major initiatives involving the CCSM and their relationship to each other. The first, an ongoing DOE/NCAR effort with an 18-month timeline, is centered on restructuring the CSM's atmospheric component and flux coupler. The second initiative, which is still in its formative stages, involves the development of a community framework for climate and weather models and related codes. Framework development and an implementation of the CCSM using the framework are part of the proposed reponse to a (still-to-be-released) NASA HPCC Cooperative Agreement Notice (CAN). Once started, the timeline for the NASA CAN project will be 3 years.

 

Several participants were concerned that the DOE/NCAR group was beginning to create a framework independently, and that if the CCSM was significantly revamped, there would be less incentive to adopt the community framework once it was completed. Although there have been efforts to integrate the two projects, more formal coordination was called for.

 

Following this exchange, Brian Kauffman led a discussion on a proposed Software Developer's Guide. The Developer's Guide would contain coding conventions and procedural conventions for the design, testing, and configuration management of CCSM code. A template and assortment of references are available at: http://www.cesm.ucar.edu/working_groups/Software/develop_guide.html

 

The two major outcomes of the meeting were:

 

1) Plans to write a CCSM Software Engineering Plan. The Software Engineering Plan, analagous to the overall CCSM Plan distributed at the workshop, will outline a strategy for CCSM software development over the next five years. This will include a decsription of the major initiatives involving the CCSM, their relationships, and a timeline. Cecelia DeLuca (SCD) and Jay Larson (ANL) will coordinate. The first draft will be distributed to reviewers August 18, 2000.

 

2) The creation of a CCSM Software Developer's Guide. Brian Kauffman will be a point-person for collecting information. A meeting to discuss the Developer's Guide will be scheduled in early fall 2000 jointly with the Common Modeling Infrastructure Working Group (CMIWG). The CMIWG has promoted standards for atmosphere-related scientific codes.

 

PRESENTATIONS

 

Cecelia DeLuca (NCAR/SCD) introduced the SEWG and provided an overview of activity areas. These included 1) CCSM code development and the coordination of multiple efforts, 2) staff development, 3) software process improvement, 4) coordination and creation of new collaborations, 5) investigation of tools for collaboration and software production, and 6) technology tracking.

 

Ian Foster (ANL) gave an overview of the DOE/NCAR project, "Development of a Modular, Performance-Portable Climate System Model." The goals of this project are to restructure key portions of CCSM code so that it can run efficiently on scalable parallel computers; simplify experimentation via a more modular code structure; and enable multi-lab, multi agency development. The project includes the design of a high-performance atmospheric model based on the CCM, a high-performance coupler, Parallel Ocean Program model improvements, and parallel I/O. A systematic, staged development approach has been adopted that involves the generation and review of requirements and design documents, and common code repositories.

 

John Drake (ORNL) described plans to redesign the CCM as part of the DOE/NCAR project. Some of the goals of the effort include high performance on a variety of computational platforms, "pluggable" dynamics, and adoption of column phyics interchange rules.

 

Jay Larson (ANL) outlined the DOE/NCAR work on the CCSM flux coupler. Starting with an evaluation of existing PCM and CSM couplers, the coupler team plans to implement short-term fixes, as well as undertake the rigorous development of a "next generation coupler."

 

Steve Hammond (NCAR/SCD) talked briefly about the NASA HPCC Cooperative Agreement Notice that calls for an "Earth System Modeling Framework." The framework is intended to reduce redundant development and improve code interoperability. A collaboration has been established that includes participants from NASA, GFDL, LANL, NCAR, NCEP, MIT, and ANL. Several of the collaborating institutions have code that illustrates proof-of-concept.

 

Participants:

 

FirstName

LastName

email

Thomas

Bettge

bettge@ucar.edu

Maurice

Blackmon

blackmon@ucar.edu

Francis

Bretherton

fbretherton@ssec.wisc.edu

Lawrence

Buja

southern@ucar.edu

Anthony

Craig

tcraig@ucar.edu

Gokhan

Danabasoglu

gokhan@ncar.ucar.edu

Cecelia

DeLuca

cdeluca@ucar.edu

Robert

Dickinson

robted@eas.gatech.edu

Brian

Eaton

eaton@ucar.edu

Ian

Foster

itf@mcs.anl.gov

Aime

Fournier

fournier@ucar.edu

Steve

Hammond

hammond@ucar.edu

Matthew

Hecht

hecht@ncar.ucar.edu

Hiromaru

Hirakuchi

hiromaru@criepi.denken.or.jp

Forrest

Hoffman

forrest@esd.ornl.gov

Robert

Jacob

jacob@mcs.anl.gov

Philip

Jones

pwjones@lanl.gov

Akira

Kasahara

kasahara@ncar.ucar.edu

Brian

Kauffman

kauff@ucar.gov

David

Klepacki

klepacki@watson.ibm.com

Erik

Kluzek

erik@ucar.edu

Jay

Larson

larson@mcs.anl.gov

Keith

Lindsay

klindsay@cgd.ucar.edu

Robert

Malone

rcm@lanl.gov

Mathew

Maltrud

maltrud@lanl.gov

Jose

Milovich

milovich1@llnl.gov

David

Myers

dmyers@terra.msrc.sunysb.edu

Jerry

Olson

olson@ucar.edu

Jagadish

Shukla

shukla@cola.iges.org

John

Truesdale

jet@ucar.edu

David

Williamson

wmson@ucar.edu

Stephen

Yeager

yeager@cgd.ucar.edu

Stephen

Zebiak

steve@iri.ldeo.columbia.edu