[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] Analysis of 1958-1997 Ocean Only x2'

Report of the Ocean Model Working Group Meeting

 

Fifth Annual Community Climate System Model Workshop

Co-Chairs: Peter Gent and Michael Spall

The Village at Breckenridge, 28 June 2000

 

 

Analysis of 1958-1997, Ocean Only x2'

 

Steve Yeager

 

a) Phase and amplitude of the annual cycle of SST compares well with Levitus climatology.

 

b) The EOF of SST and sea surface height compare well with the Reynolds/Smith data and TOPEX; although amplitude low in the model.

 

c) Density compensating T/S anomalies are subducted from the winter outcrop in the eastern subtropical gyre; then propagate equatorward.

 

Antonietta Capotondi

 

a Analysis of the large variability in thermocline depth at 15N.

 

b) It appears consistent with westward propagating Rossby waves.

 

c) It is in phase with local Ekman pumping in the east.

 

d) Developing forced Rossby wave analysis to study this variability.

 

e) Signals propagate to equator along western boundary, then eastward.

 

 

Analysis of BBL/OCMIP Integrations

 

Matthew Hecht

 

a) The Beckmann/Doscher BBL parameterization leads to small improvements in overflows and CFC distributions.

 

b) Undersampling in regions of sea-ice in winter may lead to a fresh bias in the Levitus salinity climatology.

 

c) Restoring the model under sea-ice to the maximum winter salinity values improves the CFC penetration considerably.

 

Developments in the POP Code 

 

Partial Bottom Cells - Wooyoung Choi

 

a) This gives much better resolution of the bottom topography.

 

b) It improves markedly topographic wave propagation in channel models.

 

c) It is now being tested in the x3' version of the global model.

 

 

Coupled POP/CICE in Global x3' - Gokhan Danabasoglu

 

a) Identified errors and inconsistencies between the component models. This includes area inconsistencies between the coupler and models.

 

b) The sea-ice distribution is quite good in the Southern Hemisphere, although the brine rejection rate looks high. This causes too high saline abyssal water, and a too strong ACC of about 175 Sv.

 

c) There is too little sea ice in the Arctic. The melting has freshened the surface of the North Atlantic and weakened the thermohaline circulation.

 

Work Plan for the Next Six Months

 

a) Need a new model standard x3' global equilibrium solution, using the anisotropic horizontal viscosity and coupled to the sea-ice model.

b) The better equation of state calculation and the marginal sea/runoff scheme still need to be implemented.

 

c) Need several x1 ocean-only integrations of length about 100 years.

d) Partial bottom cells need further testing.

e) BBL needs to be ported to POP, with attention to compatibility between BBL and partial cells.

f) The forcing fields in the polar regions need to be determined.

 

Participants

 

FirstName

LastName

email

Michael

Alexander

maa@cdc.noaa.gov

Caspar

Ammann

ammann@ucar.edu

Julie

Arblaster

jma@ucar.edu

Cecilia

Bitz

bitz@atmos.washington.edu

Rainer

Bleck

bleck@lanl.gov

Esther

Brady

brady@ucar.edu

Bruce

Briegleb

bruceb@ucar.edu

Frank

Bryan

bryan@ucar.edu

Antonietta

Capotondi

mac@cdc.noaa.gov

Ping

Chang

ping@ocean.tamu.edu

Wooyoung

Choi

wychoi@lanl.gov

Anthony

Craig

tcraig@ucar.edu

Gokhan

Danabasoglu

gokhan@ncar.ucar.edu

Scott

Doney

doney@ucar.edu

Philip

Duffy

pduffy@llnl.gov

Peter

Gent

gent@ucar.edu

Matthew

Hecht

hecht@ncar.ucar.edu

Marika

Holland

mholland@ucar.edu

William

Holland

holland@ucar.edu

Elizabeth

Hunke

eclare@lanl.gov

Steven

Jayne

surje@ucar.edu

Philip

Jones

pwjones@lanl.gov

Brian

Kauffman

kauff@ucar.edu

Chung-Chieng

Lai

cal@LANL.GOV

Keith

Lindsay

klindsay@cgd.ucar.edu

William

Lipscomb

lipscomb@lanl.gov

Zhengyu

Liu

zliu3@facstaff.wisc.edu

JoAnn

Lysne

lysne@ucar.edu

Robert

Malone

rcm@lanl.gov

Mathew

Maltrud

maltrud@lanl.gov

James

McWilliams

jcm@atmos.ucla.edu

Jose

Milovich

milovich1@llnl.gov

Norikazu

Nakashiki

nakasiki@criepi.denken.or.jp

Todd

Ringler

todd@atmos.colostate.edu

Andrew

Robertson

andy@atmos.ucla.edu

Julie

Schramm

schramm@ucar.edu

Albert

Semtner

sbert@ucar.edu

Richard

Smith

rdsmith@lanl.gov

Michael

Spall

mspall@whoi.edu

Stephen

Yeager

yeager@cgd.ucar.edu

Yuxia

Zhang

zhangy@ucar.edu