CCSM Isotope Organizational Meeting

 

CCSM Workshop, Breckenridge, Wednesday, 25 June 2003, 5:30-6:30pm

 

Introduction                                                                                                                           

 

Natalie Mahowald

The goal of the meeting was to encourage the development and use of CCSM for isotope studies.   Isotopes are important tools for understanding many different processes, including biogeochemistry, paleoclimate, water cycling, and chemistry.  Thus, isotopes are beyond one working group.

 

We are currently being vague about which isotopes (water, carbon) in order to determine whether they are productive overlaps in the isotopes.  Later we may want to restrict ourselves to certain subsets.

 

This is a short meeting, so we cannot talk about science, but rather about the interests, status of CCSM work, overlaps, complementary work, as well as gaps.  We would like to encourage entrepenurial efforts becoming part of the community model.  We would also like to find out about problems with the component models that make doing isotopes harder (e.g., transport issues, canopy air space).

 

Agenda: 1. Who is here (brief introductions—at end of minutes).

            2. Brief presentations of current CCSM work

            3. Discussion of future

 

People working on isotopes in CCSM                                                                                             

 

Noone: del 18O in water and carbon, Deuterium, and del 13C.  Have done model simulations in Australian model as well as CCSM.  Goals:  biogeochemistry, paleoclimate, and water cycling.

 

Gettelman: WACCM2 w/Dessler UMD, working in MOZART (offline model first).  Goals: stratosphere and water cycle—diagnostics of convection in GCMS.

 

Fung:   del 18O in water.  Goals: divide sources to where water rains out.

            Have identified numerical problems: need to tell dynamical core people

            Carbon: del C14, C13 in terrestrial carbon pools and oceans.  Also doing STE work with Randerson on C14.

 

Denning: Implemented c13 code in canopy photo model CLM2.1 (poster) for biogeochemistry work;

            connect w/Fung to link terrestrial w/air-sea for d13CO2;

            propagate isotope ratios out w/TRANSCOM-2.  Used inversion codes.

 

Emmons: 13CO to quantify contributions from different sources.

            Finished working out mechanism: trace through all the oxidation processes (double mechanism)

            Need to simulate and compare to observations (Mak obs).

 

Summary: CO2 (13CO2, 14CO2; C18OO), CO (13CO), H2O (17O, 18O, D): Brief discussion concluded that these were complementary and linked, so no reason to separate discussion too much.

 

Discussion                                                                                                                             

           

Community, especially those who have built isotope models, are willing to propogate this entrepenurial work into the community model.

 

How can we facilitate this work?

            1. Workshop? Money may exist? NCAR workshop?

                        Fung: write a two page proposal to SSC, workshop on modeling components.

Requirements, invite observationalists

            2. Communicate Interests

                        paragraph collected-distributed (community thought this would be unnecessary given workshop)

            3. Identification of component model issues

                        -advection in atmosphere? Others?

 

Meeting attendees indicated that they thought there was high level political interest in isotopes from IAEA to do joint activities on the water cycle (e.g., GEWEX as part of WMO).  However, there is little ongoing measurement in the U.S., and we should encourage more measurements.

 

There are non-traditional measurements of isotopes: e,g., JPL using remote sensing techniques.

 

There was consensus that a workshop should be conducted during the fall to gather the momentum.  Water should be the highest priority, although carbon work should be encouraged to proceed (since it has momentum now).  Mahowald will lead workshop application to CCSM (with Gettelman and others at NCAR).

 

Gap: Ocean isotopes:  Fung will look into resolving this.

 

Comments: send to Natalie.

 

Attendee List                                                                                                                                    

 

 

Last Name

First

EMAIL

INTEREST

Jackson

Charles

charles@ig.utexas.edu

Paleoclimate

Anderson

David

david.m.anderson@noaa.gov

oceans, paleoclimate

Trenberth

Kevin

trenbert@ucar.edu

water cycle

Otte-Bliesner

Bette

ottobli@ucar.edu

Paleoclimate

Gettelman

Andrew

andrew@ucar.edu

water cycle, water vapor, transport

Peterson

Bill

bill@essc.psu.edu

paleoclimate

Henderson-Sellers

Ann

ahs@ansto.gov.au

land surface and isotope obs

Denning

Scott

denning@atmos.colostate.edu

c isotopes in land, ocean, atmosphere

Suits

Neil

Nsuits@atmos.colostate.edu

c & o terrestrial

Baker

Ian

baker@atmos.colostate.edu

land-atmosphere interactions

Shield

Christine

shields@ucar.edu

paleoclimate

Bradbury

James

bradbury@geo.umass.edu

paleo-icecore

Koster

Randy

randal.d.koster@nasa.gov

general - worked with GISS isotope model

Conley

Andrew

aconley@ucar.edu

Transport

Fillmore

David

fillmore@ucar.edu

Atmospheric transport

Yang

Woo-Sun

wyang@lbl.gov

Terrestrial biogeochemistry

Ammann

Caspar

ammann@ucar.edu

paleoclimate proxy

Brady

Esther

brady@ucar.edu

proxy data - model

Pierazzo

Elisabetta

betty@psi.edu

environmental

Huber

Matthew

huberm@purdue.edu

paleoclimate model

Sewall

Jake

jsewall@es.ucsc.edu

paleoclimate proxy COH

Shellito

Cindy

shellito@es.ucsc.edu

paleoclimate

McKenna

Danny

danny@ucar.edu

Atmospheric chemistry

Lamarque

JF

lamar@ucar.edu

atomospheric chemistry

Emmons

Louisa

emmons@ucar.edu

isotopes of CO

Hess

Peter

hess@ucar.edu

isotopes of CO, atmospheric chemistry

Stephens

Britt

stephens@ucar.edu

O2, 12C, paleo + modern

Zak

Bernie

BDZak@sandia.gov

isotope use in model validation

Caballero

Rodrigo

rca@geosci.uchicago.edu

oxygen isotopes

Doney

Scott

sdoney@whoi.edu

carbon, oxygen, hydrogen(3H)

Fung

Inez

inez@atmos.berkeley.edu

carbon, water, dust

Bitz

Cecilia

bitz@apl.washington.edu

climate record in icecore

Eldering

Annmarie

annmarie.eldering@jpl.nasa.gov

obs/remote sensing H2) isotopes

Noone

David

dcn@caltech.edu

convection, paleo, CO2, land

He

Y (Helen)

yhe@lbl.gov

iso LSM in MM5

Vuille

Mothias

mathias@geo.umass.edu

paleo ice tropics

Mahowald

Natalie

mahowald@ucar.edu