The authors wish to acknowledge members of NCAR's Atmospheric Modeling and Predictability Section (AMP), CCSM Software Engineering Group (CSEG), and Computation and Information Systems Laboratory (CISL) for their contributions to the development of CAM-5.1.

The new model would not exist without the significant input from members of the CESM Atmospheric Model Working Group (AMWG) too numerous to mention. Phil Rasch (PNNL), Rich Neale (NCAR), Minghua Zhang (SUNY) and Leo Donner (GFDL), were co-chairs of the AMWG during part or all of the development of CAM-5.1.

We would like to acknowledge the substantial contributions to the CAM-5.1 effort from the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.